Same note in two staves?



Asked by: Mike Zeeb

What is it called when two notes have the same pitch?





In music notation, a tie is a curved line connecting the heads of two notes of the same pitch, indicating that they are to be played as a single note with a duration equal to the sum of the individual notes’ values.

Do accidentals apply to both staffs?

Furthermore and to answer your question: accidentals do not carry through to different staves in a grand staff, so the A’s of your example would remain natural.

How do you play the same note on both hands on the piano?

So if I play up to that same note in the left hand you'll see it's exactly the same e on that third beat. So if we play the hands together. You would actually have both fingers on that E.

When multiple staves are connected?

The grand staff (or “great stave” as it’s called in Britain), is a combination of two staves put together, usually a treble clef and a bass clef. This combination clef is used for a variety of instruments, including piano, organ, marimba (pictured above), harp, and more.

What is a tied note?





A tie is a curved line that connects two notes of the same pitch. A tie means to hold the note for the combined rhythmic value of the two notes, as if they were one. Tied notes are placed on two adjacent notes of the same pitch and played as one note. = 3 beats.

What is a tied note in Guitar Tab?

A tie is a curved line connecting two notes of the same pitch. What this does is extend the first note for the length of the second note. In other words, it adds the two tied notes together. For example, if an eighth note is tied to another eighth note, you end up with the length of a quarter note.
Jan 3, 2014

Do accidentals carry across bars?

Once a barline is passed, the effect of the accidental ends, except when a note affected by an accidental is tied to the same note across a barline. Subsequent notes at the same staff position in the second or later bars are not affected by the accidental carried through with the tied note.

Does an accidental apply to all octaves?

Per standard notation, an accidental applies to the given note in all octaves of that bar on that staff.
Feb 23, 2013

What is a courtesy accidental?

A courtesy accidental, also called a cautionary or reminder accidental, is one that, according to the rules of accidental occurrence, isn’t strictly necessary before a note. But there are times when the composer wants to remind the player that an accidental is (or is not) in effect for a particular note.



How do you slur the same note?

From one note to the next a string player may play the notes in a single bow stroke to achieve the same Lagarto.

What does it mean when two notes are stuck together?

Indicates that the two (or more) notes joined together are to be played as one note with the time values added together. To be a tie, the notes must be identical; that is, they must be on the same line or the same space; otherwise, it is a slur (see below).