Modes of scales other than C major?

Asked by: Jose Sutton

The Modes of the C Major scale:

  • Ionian/Major Scale: C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C.
  • Dorian: D, E, F, G, A, B, C, D.
  • Phrygian: E, F, G, A, B, C, D, E.
  • Lydian: F, G, A, B, C, D, E, F.
  • Mixolydian: G, A, B, C, D, E, F, G.
  • Aeolian/Natural minor scale: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, A.
  • Locrian: B, C, D, E, F, G, A, B.

Do modes only apply to major scales?

The harmonic minor and melodic minor scales are not modes of the natural minor scale. A mode is a very specific idea in music where you start building a scale on another note of the scale. For example, A minor consists of the notes A, B, C, D, E, F, G, A and it’s built using the scale pattern W-H-W-W-H-W-W .

What are the 7 different modes?

The seven main categories of mode have been part of musical notation since the middle ages. So, the list goes: Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian and Locrian.

How many modes of scales are there?

seven modes

Key Takeaways. The major scale contains seven modes: Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Locrian. Modes are a way to reorganize the pitches of a scale so that the focal point of the scale changes. In a single key, every mode contains the exact same pitches.

Why are there only 7 modes?

There are only 7 different ways that happens. Hence – 7 modes! We put them in a circle because the pattern makes more sense that way. It’s sort of linear on a piano, as the notes are in a line, but as far as the pattern goes, it’s easier to comprehend in a circle.

Are modes only on major keys?

Its most common use may be described as a type of musical scale coupled with a set of characteristic melodic and harmonic behaviors. It is applied to major and minor keys as well as the seven diatonic modes (including the former as Ionian and Aeolian) which are defined by their starting note or tonic.

Are there minor modes?

There are four minor modes (those with minor 3rds), and we have already seen one of them, Aeolian. Since we are familiar with Aeolian—we know the scale by its other name, natural minor —we will use it as a point of reference.

What is D Dorian scale?

And What Is The Dorian Mode? The Dorian mode is, in its purest form, the white notes from D-D. This means that a D Dorian scale is D, E, F, G, A, B, C. Obviously, this is the enharmonic equivalent of C major, so the notes are exactly the same; it’s the way you use the scale that changes things.

What is E Phrygian?

The E Phrygian is the third mode of the C Major Scale. It contains exactly the same notes, but starts on another note. Since Phrygian has a Minor scale quality it can also be seen as a mode of the A Minor. The E Phrygian is also the same as the E Minor apart from one note, the second in the scale.

Is Mixolydian major or minor?


The Mixolydian mode, as you know, is basically our major scale starting on the fifth degree. Therefore, it has a sense of major scale feel with minor intervals. When we make music based on the Western standard note system it amounts to a juxtaposition of all the Greek modes and can be so analysed.

Is Phrygian mode major or minor?

In modern western music (from the 18th century onward), the Phrygian mode is related to the modern natural minor scale, also known as the Aeolian mode, but with the second scale degree lowered by a semitone, making it a minor second above the tonic, rather than a major second.

What are Greek modes?

The eight modes
Seven of them were given names identical with those used in the musical theory of ancient Greece: Dorian, Hypodorian, Phrygian, Hypophrygian, Lydian, Hypolydian, and Mixolydian, while the name of the eighth mode, Hypomixolydian, was adapted from the Greek.

Is dorian a minor?

The Dorian scale and the natural minor scale (known as Aeolian in modal parlance) are both considered minor modes. In major scales, the interval between the root and the third note is a major third (a distance of four semitones).

What mode does Santana use?

the Dorian mode

Carlos Santana is a big user user of the Dorian mode. In this course, we will discuss firstly what the Dorian mode is, and then how to apply it to your lead playing in order to play like Santana! We also learn a couple of cool licks using the new scale shapes.

What is Locrian mode used for?

Since the Locrian mode is quite tense and unresolved, it is the perfect choice to play over a m7b5 chord. When the underlying chord next changes, the music can be resolved to have a happy ending, sad ending or a mysterious ending, by using the other modes.

What is D mixolydian?

The D Mixolydian is a seven-note scale, also called D Dominant Scale. Colored circles in the diagram mark the notes in the scale (darker color highlighting the root notes). In the fretboard pattern, the first root note is on the 6th string, 10th fret.

What key is a Phrygian?

The Phrygian Mode

TRIAD Chord Type SEVENTH Chord Types Example in the key of A Phrygian
biii major biii 7 (extensions 9, 11, 13) C7
iv minor iv minor 7 (extensions 9, 11, b13) D minor 7
v minor b5 V minor 7b5 (extensions b9, 11, b13) E minor 7b5
bVI major bVI major 7 (extensions 9, 11, 13) F major 7

What is the 5th mode?

The Mixolydian mode is the 5th mode of the major scale as it is derived from the 5th note of the major scale. It’s is also sometimes referred to as a dominant scale because the 5th degree of the major scale is called the dominant. To play a Mixolydian scale you can play all the white keys from G to G on a piano.