Is this a V+ or III+6?

Asked by: Mario Lamont

What is the Part A of STCW?

part A, mandatory provisions to which specific reference is made in the annex to the STCW Convention and which give, in detail, the minimum standards required to be maintained by Parties in order to give full and complete effect to the provisions of the STCW Convention; and, in.

What is the latest amendment of STCW year place?

Known as the ‘Manila amendments to the STCW Convention and Code’, these amendments came into force on , with the new STCW 2010 training and certification requirements being adopted from July 2013.

Which STCW is the Manila amendment?

On the same line, the STCW 95 convention was amended in manila on 25th June 2010 under the presence of IMO members, ensuring that the global needs for safety and environment policy and standard of training and certification to operate the advanced technology in coming future are achieved.

What is ETO rank?

On larger vessels such as cruise ships or specialized offshore DP vessels, Electro-Technical Officers can have ranks within their profession, such position names include, lead ETO, First Electrician, chief electrical officer or chief electrical engineer.

What is Part A and Part B in STCW Code?

The STCW Code
Part A of the Code is mandatory. The minimum standards of competence required for seagoing personnel are given in detail in a series of tables. Part B of the Code contains recommended guidance which is intended to help Parties implement the Convention.

What is STCW Convention Regulation VI 6?

STCW Convention Regulation VI/6 came into effect on January 1,2014 and this applies to all persons employed or engaged in any capacity on ships, prior to being assigned shipboard duties and, seafarer who is designated to perform security duties as stated in the Ship Security Plan.

What STCW certificates should be updated?

These two modules, A-VI/1-1.1 and A-VI/1-1.2, are the only two modules required to be updated by the STCW Manila Amendments every 5 years. – Updated Proficiency in Basic Fire Prevention & Fire Fighting & Personal Survival Techniques.

Is STCW a Code or Convention?

STCW was adopted in 1978 by conference at the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in London, and entered into force in 1984. The Convention was significantly amended in enter into force on .

What is the new requirement of the amended 2010 STCW?

A new Electro Technical Officer (ETO) and an Electro Technical Rating (ETR) will be added. Engine Room Resource Management, Teamwork and Leadership training will be mandatory at both the operational and management levels.

Can an ETO become a captain?

Yes, even an ETO can become a Captain. If an ETO do not find his job satisfying he can always have option to change his line provided he fulfills entry requirements. For deck option ,he needs to complete seatime as deck cadet followed by COC exams and then rising upto master level with seatime and compentency exams.

What is an ordinary seaman called?

An ordinary seaman (OS) is a member of the deck department of a ship. The position is an apprenticeship to become an able seaman, and has been for centuries. In modern times, an OS is required to work on a ship for a specific amount of time, gaining what is referred to as “sea time”.

Is Merchant Navy a military?

A non-military service, the Merchant Navy is a part of a global economy that impacts our daily lives from the food we eat to the things we own and use every day.

What is the difference between STCW Code and STCW Convention?

The essential difference between Code and Convention is that the former becomes Mandatory for Contracting Parties when it enters into force. Convention is an agreed set of rules on a particular matter.

What is Section A VI 1 of the STCW Code?

Mandatory Minimum Requirements for Safety Familiarization, Basic Training and Instruction for All Seafarers. Seafarers shall receive safety familiarization and basic training or instruction in accordance with section A-VI/1 of the STCW Code and shall meet the appropriate standard of competence specified therein.

What are the 2 parts of STCW?

When adopted in 1978, the STCW Convention only had two components: the articles and the Annex. The Annex outlined the technical requirements which had to be met to meet the obligations imposed by the articles.

What are the 5 basic STCW courses?

STCW 2010 Basic Safety Training

  • Elementary First Aid (EFA)
  • Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting (FPFF)
  • Personal Survival Techniques (PST)
  • Personal Safety and Social Responsibility (PSSR)
  • Proficiency in Security Awareness (PSA)

What is in the Table A IV 2 of STCW?

The knowledge, understanding and proficiency for endorsement under the Convention of certificates issued under the provisions of the Radio Regulations are listed in column 2 of table A-IV/2.

What are the 3 tiers of security training in STCW?

The 2010 amendments will include three levels of security training: Level One – Security Awareness (For all crew members): Check MCA UK approved PSA online training OR Transport Canada approved VPWOSR (PSA) online training.

What is the expiration of STCW Regulation VI 6 certificate?

After successful completion of this course the participant will receive a STCW (A VI/6-1) certificate. This certificate is valid for life.

What is STCW certificate list?

STCW (Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping) Certificates: The mandatory STCW certificates comprising of PST (Personal Survival Techniques), PSSR (Personal Safety and Social Responsibility), EFA (Elementary First Aid), FPFF (Fire Prevention and Fire Fighting).