Different modes of pentatonic scale?

Asked by: Nikki Smith

Derivation from diatonic modes

Pentatonic scale Tonic note Based on modes (Diatonic scale)
Suspended D Mixolydian mode Dorian mode Aeolian mode (Natural minor)
Minor A Dorian mode Aeolian mode (Natural minor) Phrygian mode
Blues minor E Aeolian mode (Natural minor) Phrygian mode Locrian mode

Are there modes of the pentatonic scale?

There are five modes : Mode I (major pentatonic) that consists of the first, second, major third, perfect fifth and sixth. Mode II aka Egyptian pentatonic scale or suspended pentatonic (no third, suspended scale) : 1 – 2 – 4 – 5 – b7. Mode III (Blues minor) aka Man Gong scale (minor) : 1 – b3 – 4 – b6 – b7.

What are the modes of the minor pentatonic scale?

Let’s talk about three very commonly used minor modes constructed on a minor pentatonic formula: Root, minor third, fourth, fifth and minor seventh. Let’s talk about three very commonly used major modes constructed on a major pentatonic formula: Root, Major second, Major third, fifth and major sixth.

How many types of pentatonic scales are there?


There are two common pentatonic scales: the major pentatonic and the minor pentatonic. The major pentatonic scale shares five notes with the major scale.

What are the 5 pentatonic scale positions?

The 5 Major Pentatonic Positions

  • C Major Pentatonic, 1-4-6 Position.
  • C Major Pentatonic, 2-4 Position.
  • C Major Pentatonic, 2-5 Position.
  • C Major Pentatonic, 3-5 Position.
  • C Major Pentatonic, 1-3-6 Position.

What is Dorian pentatonic?

The Dorian pentatonic scale is a minor scale built with five notes. It is sometimes referred to as “Kumoï scale”, a Japanese scale. The formula is : 1 (tonic), 2 (second), b3 (minor third), 5 (perfect fifth) and 6 (natural sixth).

Is there a Lydian pentatonic scale?

The Lydian pentatonic scale is made of five notes built from the following interval pattern : 1 (tonic), 2 (second), 3 (third), #4 (augmented fourth) and 6 (sixth). It can be seen as the major pentatonic scale where the fifth is lowered by a half-step, thus giving the b5 wich is actually the same note as the #4.

What is the mixolydian pentatonic scale?

The mixolydian scale is widely used in rock, blues, jazz, funk and soul improvising. It comes from a major scale starting on the 5th scale degree. In other words, to play a G mixolydian scale, start on G but play all of the notes in a C major scale (G-A-B-C-D-E-F-G).

What is Phrygian mode in music?

Phrygian. The Phrygian is the third mode. It is also very similar to the modern natural minor scale. The only difference is in the second note, which is a minor second not a major. The Phrygian dominant is also known as the Spanish gypsy scale, because it resembles the scales found in flamenco music.

How many guitar modes are there?

seven modes

In this lesson, you’ll meet the major scale’s seven modes—Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and Locrian—and learn how you can use their distinctive sounds to create more interesting melodies and chords.

How do you remember the 5 pentatonic shapes?

The visual reference point that's players start using to start phrasing. Position one happens on the right side of that root. So if this is your your root.

Which pentatonic scale should I learn first?

E minor pentatonic

The E minor pentatonic is easy for beginners to learn because it only contains five notes. Better yet, those notes (in the open position) can be played across open strings, and the second and third frets of your guitar.

What pentatonic scale is the key of G?

In the G major pentatonic scale, you will play the seven notes repeated in the G major scale, minus the fourth and seventh note. Similar to the C major, the G major pentatonic scale has no sharps or flats.

How do you memorize pentatonic scales?

So you have 1 4 1 4 1 3 1 3 1 3. You see or the third position you've got one more 1 4 1 4 excuse me what am I saying 1 3 1 3 1 3. And then what do you have after that 1 4 1 4 always.

What is the difference between major pentatonic and minor pentatonic?

The pentatonic scale can be major or minor. The major pentatonic scale contains 5 notes of the major scale, and the minor pentatonic scale contains 5 notes of the minor scale. Compare these scales (C pentatonic and A minor pentatonic) with the scales of C major and A minor, respectively.

How do you learn pentatonic shapes?

So – 2 or 3 or 4 or any and even 5 shapes let's move on now we need to expand from the root notes to as high or as low as possible within that box now we really expand our knowledge of the patterns.