Can someone please tell me why there are 5 different patterns to Penatonic scales?

Asked by: James Baum

How many pentatonic scale patterns are there?

There are two common pentatonic scales: the major pentatonic and the minor pentatonic. The major pentatonic scale shares five notes with the major scale.

What are the 5 pentatonic notes?

The major pentatonic scale is made up of five notes, the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 6th degrees of the major scale. In the key of C that would be: C, D, E, G and A. As you can see above, it’s very similar to C major scale but doesn’t contain the 4th or 7th degrees.

What are the pentatonic scale patterns?

To form the C Major pentatonic scale, you would take the 1 = C, 2 = D, 3 = E, 5 = G, 6 = A. To form the C minor pentatonic scale, you would take the 1 = C, b3 = Eb, 4 = F, 5 = G, b7 = Bb.

Forming Pentatonic Scales in Parallel.

Scale Note Degrees (Based on the Major Scale)
Minor Pentatonic 1-b3-4-5-b7

How do you remember the 5 pentatonic shapes?

The visual reference point that's players start using to start phrasing. Position one happens on the right side of that root. So if this is your your root.

How many scale patterns are there?

Starting with the root on the 6th string, there are four common scale patterns. Note that in the first scale pattern you’re using open notes in the scale, but this pattern is movable and can be played anywhere on the neck.

How do you identify a pentatonic scale?

You can find a minor pentatonic scale in one of two ways. Here’s the first method: start with a major scale and, this time, remove the 2nd and 6th note. Then flat the 3rd and the 7th note. That will keep your root note of the minor pentatonic scale the same as the major pentatonic scale.